Goodbye, Grandmother

Lola

My grandmother passed away Sunday morning around 8:30am. She passed away peacefully, a relief to all of us because she’s been suffering for almost 10 years.

I do not know how to pay tribute to someone who has done a lot for her children and grandchildren. I never had the privilege of growing up with my grandmother, and I never got to know what it’s like to have a workaholic yet caring grandmother.

And I never knew the pain and confusion my cousins have felt when they saw our active grandmother start suffering from the effects of Alzheimer’s.

I wish I can really write about her. But maybe my memories of her were not enough, and I do not have that close relationship with her. I guess there are just things that a writer cannot write; and for me this is one of them.

Rest in peace, Lola. I pray that you are in a better place. We will all miss you.

Leave a Reply

